Stone Hearth New Haven Restaurant, Hamden Restaurants, Woodbridge Restaurants, Orange Restaurants, West New Haven Restaurants
Stone Hearth New Haven Restaurant, Hamden Restaurants, Woodbridge Restaurants, Orange Restaurants, West New Haven Restaurants
 

Accolades: Testimonials and Reviews

Click on the Tripadvisor Logo to check out what people are saying about Stone Hearth. They are saying that they like us!

 

 

 

Yelp reviewers like us too.

Click on the Yelp logo to read reviews

May 4, 2014

70th Birthday Party


Thank you very, very much for a lovely afternoon party on Saturday. My in-laws were over the moon. All the guests had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, and the servers incredibly attentive and friendly. It was an all-around wonderful experience which we'll be sure to recommend to others.

 

Best wishes and see you soon.

 

Dominique

November 12, 2013

 

Fresh Fish from Stone Hearth

 

Matt Kurnick from Kitchen Biz wrote a recent article about how Executive Chef Phil Young uses state of the art equipment and techniques to produce Stone Hearth's daily offerings of fresh fish dishes. The complete article can be viewed at: http://www.kitchenbiz.biz/fresh-fish-from-the-stone-hearth/

October 6, 2013

 

Lucius Ringwald posted on Stone Hearth's FaceBook Timeline: "Heartfelt thanks to Howie, the chefs, and the stellar staff of Stone Hearth restaurant for making tonight's New Haven Land Trust event possible! The food was delicious, the ambience was sublime, and the guests went home with high spirits and full tummies. Special kudos for transforming our community-graden produce into such delectable treats!" 

October, 2013

 

"Stone Hearth, New Haven Stone Hearth in Westville looks across Whalley  Avenue to Lyric Hall. Both represent great directions in which New Haven seems to be headed. Restored Lyric Hall is rapidly becoming an artistic mecca, according to the New Haven Independent, while Stone Hearth, brought to you by the folks behind Delaney’s, represents a commitment to an affordable farm-to-table dining experience. “A brick oven would be wasted without a great pizza menu,” says ownership, and so 12-inch personal-sized pizzas are offered in imaginative combinations like tasso ham, ricotta, fresh herbs and mashed potatoes. Yum. 838 Whalley Ave., New Haven, 203-691-1456, www.stonehearthnh.com"

Click here to read full review

July, 2013

 

Great review by Spencer Caldwell in the current issue. "Despite its sophistication, the menu is highly affordable, with main dishes starting at $14 and just three (which we eschew) crossing the $20  plateau. Housemade onion focaccia is accompanied by extra virgin olive oil with a spot of balsamic vinegar, crushed red pepper and salt. Our
difficult vegetarian daughter does our hearts good by demolishing a plain pizza ($14) with a puffy, slightly charred crust, vibrant tomato  sauce and splotches of fresh Mozz. Click here for the full review.

July 18, 2013 Suzanne, Woodbridge, CT 

The restaurant is sleek and sophisticated. browns, open ceiling. The staff is top notch. Our waitress Baracah, was informative and patient as we had a lot of questions , it being our first time. nice focaccia to start. Scallops over cauliflower purée was excellent. the salmon with asparagus and citrus butter sauce very flavorful. The fungi farfalli with cream sauce nice, although the sauce could have been a little richer but did we really need it so? The gratis cheese pizza was great, the dough so light and crispy and cheese had a nice "punch" .A generous wine by the glass menu with good prices$6-7 . finished up with strawberry shortcake, have to get those fruit servings in, We hope this place does well and we don't have to make track downtown to get a good meal. The prices were very reasonable for quality.

 

July 9, 2013 Melinda L.

......Let me just say this place was life changing as far as food goes. The first girl who greeted us was lovely. Friendly and she seemed happy to have us visiting their place. We got a lovely large booth right near the window. Our waiter, Teddy, came over pretty quickly and asked for our drink order. I had a really good raspberry Iced tea and Dave, his usual Diet coke and lime. We asked our charming waiter about the food and he had a lot of good stuff to say about nearly everything. We ended up ordering 2 apps and 2 entrees.

They served us this light focaccia bread with oil, balsamic and red pepper flakes. It was nice. The bread was wonderful. I thought that we might be off to a great start. Our Apps came and they were amazing. The meats were like butter and the melted cheese dish was so gooey.

Our entrees came pretty quickly after we were done with our apps. The short ribs were beautiful. The mushroom farfalle was just heaped with a mixture of mushrooms. I have to say the short ribs with mashed potatoes and green beans was my favorite. The meat was tender and the potatoes were creamy. ......

 

June 23, 2013 Tinaz1223

I have eaten here twice now; once with my family and once with only with my husband. We enjoyed ourselves on both occasions. The food is prepared well, fresh, and well composed. The wine was excellent- we tried a Wine of the Day and our sommelier really new his wines. Since we at relatively early on both occasions (6 pm), it wasn't overly crowded and the service was good. We will go here again, and have recommended it to friends. It is a welcome addition to the neighborhood.  

 

June 4, 2013 Lauren Arch Arons

OMG! It was THESE anchovy-deviled eggs that did it for me! I  asked about them and Amanda (one of the managers) told me it was a "Happy Hour"  special from 4-7pm only! It was about 8pm at this point and we were done with  dinner...I pouted a little and, next thing I know, she delivered a plate of them to me! I could have died and gone to heaven! BEST service...Howie and Amanda are FANTASTIC...food is INCREDIBLE and will rival ANY Westport/Greenwich/NY bistro! Dreaming of our next visit!

May 2013

 

New Haven Magazine's May issue has a great review of Stone Hearth. Read it on pages 63-64 at the link shown below. "Blend together a mix of interior details, eating spaces and menu items and you've got the new Stone Hearth on Whalley Ave ....."

Click here for thr full review

Customer Testimonials

May 22, 2013 Thomas Gutt

Thomas wrote: "As a French American Chef I will attest to the brilliant combo created by Phil Philip Young verry yummy

 

April 2, 2013 Rick Merrell

Great new place in the Westville area

 

March 28. 2013 Jenn Nolte

Had a lot of fun and yummy food at Stone Hearth tonight. That porter was the bombs definitely coming back

 

March 17, 2013 Matilde Morales-Marcano 

I had a great meal here tonight with my husband. We love that you have gluten-free and paleo options. We will be back! :-)

 



March 5, 2013 Ron Nassef

Went to Stone Hearth in Westville tonight Cannot believe how great the food, service and team work was. kudos to Howard, Jessica and the rest of the team. We will be regulars. Welcome to the neighborhood.

 

March 5, 2013 Dennis Lamar

 

Stone Hearth offers a low-key sophisticated atmosphere of hospitality, with candles and wooden-slat windows, a hint of background music, and an undercurrent of urban energy. The interior design is a pleasant mélange of echo-deco (the lighting), diner moderne (accent tile, leather trimmed booths) and industrial chic (exposed stainless steel HVAC, piping-as-railing, reclaimed wood bar tables). The staff is attentive and the food delicious. While they offer pizza, it's less of a pizza joint than I had anticipated. We shall return for brunch and further samplings from their extensive, thoughtful and artisanal menu, which features vegetarian, low-calorie, paleo and gluten-free options.

 

 

March 5, 2013 Lucien Harton

 

WOW... from the moment we walked in to the moment we left...
An amazing experience. Great team work. Great service and amazing food. We will be back. Welcome to the neighborhood.
From a fellow restaurant manager...don't lose what you've begun...see you soon

 

March 29, 2013   Matilde Morales-Mmarcano

 

I had a great meal here tonight with my husband. We love that you have gluten-free and paleo options. We will be back! :-)

 


April 12, 2013   Chris Heitman

 

Thank you, everyone, for the copious birthday wishes! Enjoyed a lovely dinner close to home with Cyra and the girls at Stone Hearth - short ribs & mashies, meatballs & spaghetti squash, plus an ice cream sampler from SoCo Creamery, their chocolate having been Eva's first "solid" food 8 1/2 years ago in Great Barrington!

 

May 5th   Anne Doris Levine Eisner

 

Had a great meal and loved the ambience too!